List of Indian Vice Presidents | latest | 2023

List of Indian Vice Presidents

After the President of India, the Vice President of India is the second-highest constitutional post in India. The Vice President of India is also ex officio Chairperson of the upper house of the Parliament of India i.e. Rajya Sabha. The Vice President acts as President in the absence of the president due to death, resignation, removal, impeachment, or the inability of the president to discharge their functions. The elected vice president holds office for a term of five years. We have provided you with the list of vice presidents of India or Indian vice presidents below :

Current Vice-President of India

Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu

Term Start 11 August 2017 Shri Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu
Term End Present Vice President
Date of Birth 01 July 1949
B.A., B.L
Ex-officio Chairman, Rajya Sabha                                                                                                                                                   

Former Vice-Presidents of India

1. Dr. S. Radhakrishnan

Term Start 13 May 1952 Radhakrishnan, Dr. Sarvepalli
Term End 12 May 1962
Date of Birth 05 September 1888
M.A, D. Litt. (Hony.), LL.D., D.C.L,
Litt. D., D.L, F.R.S.L, F.B.A.,
Hony. Fellow, All Souls College (Oxford)

He is the author of over 20 books. He received Bharat Ratna in the year 1954 for his various exceptional works, he is also the second person to receive this award. After providing his services as vice president he was elected as President of India in 1962 and held the position till 1967. He died on 17 April 1975.

2. Dr. Zakir Hussain

Term Start 13 May 1962 Dr.Zakir Hussain
Term End 12 May 1967
Date of Birth 08 February 1897
M.A., Ph.D. (Berlin),
D. Litt. (Honoris Causa)

He is the author of 10+ books. He also received two of the most prestigious awards of India Padma Vibhushan in 1954 and Bharat Ratna in 1963. Later, he was elected as President of India and held the position from 13 May 1967 till the day of his death i.e. 03 May 1969.

3. Shri V.V. Giri

Term Start 13 May 1967 Sh. V.V. Giri
Term End 03 May 1969
Date of Birth 10 August 1894
D. Litt. (Honoris Causa), LL.D. (Honoris Causa)

He was also elected as Acting President then he further elected as President of India and held the position till 1974. He is also one of the recipients of the Bharat Ratna which is awarded to him in 1975. He took the last breath on 24 June 1980.

4. Shri Gopal Swarup Pathak

Term Start 31 August 1969 Sh. Gopal Swarup Pathak
Term End 30 August 1974
Date of Birth 26 February 1896
M.A., LL.B.
He held various positions as a judge, Union Minister, Governor, and Chancellor of different universities. He died on 31 August 1982.

5. Shri B.D.Jatti

Term Start 31 August 1974 Sh. B.D.Jatti
Term End 30 August 1979
Date of Birth 10 September 1912
B-A., LL.B
He was also elected as Acting President in the year 1977. He took his last breath on 07 June 2002.                              

6. Shri M. Hidayatullah

Term Start 31 August 1979 Sh. B.D.Jatti
Term End 30 August 1984
Date of Birth 17 December 1905
M.A., Barrister-at-law, LL.D. (Honoris Causa),
D. Litt. (Honoris Causa)
He was elected as Acting President of India in the years 1969 and 1982. He was also an author of various books. He received many International Awards like the Order of the British Empire, the Order of Yugoslav Flag with Sash, I Medallion and the Plaque of Merit Philconsa, Manila, and the Knight of Mark Twain. He died on 18 September 1992.

7. Shri R. Venkataraman

Term Start 31 August 1984 Sh. R. Venkataraman
Term End 24 July 1987
Date of Birth 04 December 1910
M.A., B.L., Doctorate of Laws (Honoris Causa),
Doctorate of Social Sciences (University of Roorkee)
He was one of the freedom fighters for which was awarded Tamra Patra for participation in the freedom struggle. He was later elected as President of India and held the position from 1987 to 1992. He left this world on 27 January 2009.

8. Dr. Shanker Dayal Sharma

Term Start 03 September 1987 Dr. Shanker Dayal Sharma
Term End 24 July 1992
Date of Birth 19 August 1918
M.A., LLM, Ph.D. (Cambridge University),
Diploma in Public Administration (London),
Bar-at-Law (Lincoln’s Inn) Fellow,
Harvard Law School, Zurich University and Paris University,
Doctorate of Laws (Honoris Causa)
He was one of the recipients of the Chakravarti Gold Medal for Social Service and also the author of different books on politics and international affairs. He was elected as President of India in the year 1992 and held office till 1997. He died on 26 December 1999.

9. Shri K.R. Narayanan

Term Start 21 August 1992 Sh. K.R. Narayanan
Term End 24 July 1997
Date of Birth 27 October 1920
M. A. (English Literature), First Class First,
University of Travancore, Kerala,
B.Sc. (Economics), First Class Honours, London School of Economics;
 He wrote books like India and America. Essays in Understanding, Images, and Insights, and Non-alignment in Contemporary International Relations. He was elected as President of India in 1997 and held the position till 2002. He took his last breath on November 9, 2005.

10. Shri Krishan Kant

Term Start 21 August 1997 Sh. Krishan Kant
Term End 27 July 2002
Date of Birth 28 February 1927
M.Sc. (Technology) from Banaras Hindu University.
He presides over various positions like Chairman of different committees and juries and Chancellor in many universities.

11. Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat

Term Start 19 August 2002  Sh. Bhairon Singh Shekhawat
Term End 21 July 2007
Date of Birth 23 October 1923
Profession Farmer and Agriculturist
 He died on 15 May 2010.                                                                                                                                                                    

12. Md. Hamid Ansari

Term Start 11 August 2007 Sh. M. Hamid Ansari
Term End 10 August 2017
Date of Birth 01 April 1937
BA (Hons); MA (Political Science)
He represented India globally by holding various international positions like Ambassadors to other countries and other important positions. Apart from that, he had published many good books. He was also awarded Padam Shri in 1984.


1 thought on “List of Indian Vice Presidents | latest | 2023”

Leave a Comment